Golden Pin Design Award & Golden Pin Concept Design Award 2018 Jury List Announced

The Golden Pin Design Award and Golden Pin Concept Design Award announced its 2018 jury list! This year, the Golden Pin Design Award judging system is changing to maximize the rigorousness and fairness of its judging; the award committee works year in, year out to improve in this capacity. There is a completely different jury panel for each of the three judging stages, including Preliminary Selection, Secondary Selection, and Final Selection. What’s more, there are a total of 76 judges this year, which is double the number from last year. The international judges include Ad van Berlo, Kashiwa Sato, Edmond Bakos, and Chris Lee. Meanwhile, the judges from Taiwan include Lin Xiao-Yi, Shikuan Chen, Tony K.M. Chang, and Keng Ming Liu. Together, they will choose a select number of Design Mark and Best Design winning entrants, which will be announced later this year.


Ad van Berlo

In addition to Ad van Berlo’s teaching position at Design Academy Eindhoven, which is one of the top design institutions in the Netherlands, back in 1982 he founded his own design studio, which grew to become the VanBerlo Group. His company’s clients include multinational corporations such as Robert Bosch GmbH and RB Group, among others. He has many international accolades ranging from the Red Dot and iF Design Award, to the Good Design Award, Industrial Design Excellence Award, and Dutch Design Award. An internationally acclaimed designer, he brings more than thirty years of professional experience to the Golden Pin Design Award 2018 Final Selection Jury.

Kashiwa Sato

Famed for wow-ing the world with his innovative ideas, Japanese designer Kashiwa Sato has an impressive list of clients, including Uniqlo, Kirin Company, Honda Motor Company, and The National Art Center Tokyo. In 2000, he established his own creative studio, SAMURAI Inc. His unique mode of design thinking has brought many new innovations in the advertising and commerce industries, and recently he has expanded his vision to tackle the design of space and architectural projects. He is a bestselling author, having written several books on design, including ‘”eaching the Solution: Kashiwa Sato’s Creative Thinking Techniques” (Nikkei, Inc., 2010). He has won numerous awards, from Japan’s Good Design Award to Hong Kong’s DFA Award, and in 2016 he was guest exhibitor with the ARIA 400 project at Maison & Objet in Paris.

Edmond Bakos

American architect, interior designer, and urban space designer, Edmond Bakos is Partner and Managing Director at CHAMPALIMAUD Design. He earned his renown in the hospitality industry for leading several signature hotel and restaurant projects. His top hotel projects include the world’s first W Hotel, the Cosmopolitan Resort and Casino Las Vegas, and Andaz Wall Street. Bakos will serve on the Final Selection jury panel, bringing his professional knowledge and extensive experience to the Spatial Design category.

Chris Lee

Singaporean designer, Chris Lee is Founder and Creative Director of Asylum, which is defined as the unconventional maverick of the creative sphere. Since its inception in 1999, the creative company has focused on cross-disciplinary projects including interactive design, product development, environmental & interior design, packaging, apparel design, branding and graphic design. Asylum has been recognized with over 100 international awards, and Lee himself won Designer of the Year at Singapore’s President Design Award in 2009. He is also a founding member and ex-President of The Design Society, a non-profit organization that aims to promote visual culture through exhibitions, workshops and education.

Lin Xiao-Yi

One of only four Taiwanese members in the prestigious Alliance Graphique Internationale, Lin Xiao-Yi is the Art Director of graphic design studio “atom no color”. Lin previously worked as a design consultant, as well as magazine and book editor in diverse fields such as film, music, and fine art. Since her move towards graphic design in 2004, she completed a wide array of works, which led to her membership with the AGI.

Shikuan Chen

Sitting on the board of the World Design Organization, Shikuan Chen is a Design Professor at Taipei Shih-Chien University, and Senior Vice President of Corporate Marketing and Innovation at Compal Electronics Inc. At Compal Electronics, he is responsible for creating business and design strategy, as well as portfolio roadmaps for the global computing and mobile devices industry. He serves on juries for various global design award including iF Design Award and the Golden Pin Design Award.

Tony K.M. Chang

Regional Advisor to the World Design Organization, Tony K.M. Chang holds a bachelors degree in Architecture and an honorary doctorate in Design from Chung Yuan Christian University. His previous positions include Founding Chairman of Taiwan Design Alliance and Advisor of Taiwan External Trade Development Council (TAITRA). In 2011, he won an Icograda Achievement Award.

Keng Ming Liu

Keng Ming Liu is Creative Director of Taiwan’s leading motion design studio, Bito. Among Bito’s clients, which include Acer, Asus, and Mercedes-Benz, some of the studio’s most famous projects include “Taipei in Motion”, a video promoting the 2017 Summer Universiade, and the 2017 brand video for Gogoro 2. Bito’s opening video for the Golden Pin Design Award 2016 won the Bronze Cube in the Craft in Motion category at the 96th ADC Awards in 2017. In 2015, Bito’s opening video “Road to Different” for the TEDxTianhe event took home the Silver Cube in the Motion category at the ADC 94th Annual Awards. Previously, Keng Ming Liu has served on juries at the iF Design Award in 2011, and at both the Golden Pin Concept Design Award and Young Pin Design Award in 2016.

•The full Jury List:

Judging Stages
Both the Golden Pin Design Award and the Golden Pin Concept Design Award have already completed the 2018 Preliminary Selection judging stage, and the Secondary Selection is set to take place between mid-August and early-September. The Secondary Selection is held in four cities across the region — Shenzhen, Shijiazhuang, Shanghai, and Taipei. The Final Selection takes place at the end of September, and the final results are to be announced at the Grand Ceremony, which will be held in Taipei at the end of November.

Golden Pin Design Award 2018 — Timeline
• Secondary Selection:
– Overseas event: Mid- August.
– Taiwan event: September 6.
• Final Selection: September 20.
• Best Design Award Ceremony: November 29.

Golden Pin Concept Design Award 2018 — Timeline
• Secondary Selection:
– Overseas event: Mid-August.
– Taiwan event: August 24.
• Final Selection: September 21.
• Best Design Award Ceremony: November 29.

About the Golden Pin Design Award Group
The annual Golden Pin Design Award is the longest-running international design award that celebrates products or projects expressly created for and within huaren (Chinese-speaking) communities, offering entrants an unprecedented opportunity to prove their prowess in the world’s largest market.

The Golden Pin Award Group is comprised of two international awards — the Golden Pin Design Award, the Golden Pin Concept Design Award — and the Young Pin Design Award for students in Taiwan. The Golden Pin Design Award Group is executed by the Taiwan Design Center and organized by the Industrial Development Bureau, Ministry of Economic Affairs. The Ministry of Economic Affairs acts in an advisory capacity.

For more insight into what it means to design for huaren communities, visit:

For the latest news on the Golden Pin Design Award, visit:
Official Website:
WeChat: 金点设计奖

For the latest news on the Golden Pin Concept Design Award, visit:
Official Website:
WeChat: 金点设计奖