Taipei, TAIWAN — The Golden Pin Design Award, Asia’s iconic annual design award, will once again provide a stage for talented designers from all over the world to present their work to the global Huaren design community. The call for entries is open for the 2022 Golden Pin Design Award and Golden Pin Concept Design Award!

Established in Taiwan in 1981, the Golden Pin Design Award is now sponsored by the Industrial Development Bureau of the Ministry of Economic Affairs (MOEA) and administered by Taiwan Design Research Institute (TDRI). The complete list of 103 jurors for the 2022 awards was announced on May 26. This year’s amazing jury lineup includes design experts from 17 countries and regions—including Dutch home and interior design master Richard Hutten, famed Japanese designer Yoshiaki Irobe and architect Sou Fujimoto, and German design master Werner Aisslinger—who will come together to explore the design submissions. The call for entries for the 2022 Gold Pin Design Award was opened in April. Early bird registration has been extended to Tuesday, June 14 and registration will close on Thursday, July 7. The awards welcome all design professionals to take on the challenge and compete for the prizes and glory!

Since its internationalization in 2014, the Golden Pin Design Award has accepted submissions from around the world and each year invites international design experts to form a jury with wide-ranging expertise and perspectives. This year, 103 jurors from 17 worldwide locales— Taiwan, China, Hong Kong, Singapore, Japan, Thailand, Korea, the U.S., the U.K., Italy, Canada, Germany, Australia, Finland, the Netherlands, Brazil, and the Philippines—will participate in selecting the award winners. It is the largest jury in Golden Pin history.

In a first for the Golden Pin Design Award, the organizer has invited Dutch design master Richard Hutten to join the jury. Founder of Richard Hutten Studio and art director at Gispen, the Netherlands’ second largest furniture brand with nearly a century of history, Hutten is world-renowned for his unique creative aesthetic and playful yet innovative designs. Hutten’s work can be found in more than 40 museums around the world including MoMA in New York and the V&A museum in London, making him one of the most collectible of contemporary designers. German design master Werner Aisslinger specializes in applying highly experimental and artistic design techniques to bold and innovative materials to create design classics that populate museum collections all over the world. His Juli armchair, designed for Italian furniture brand Cappellini, is the first chair from Germany to be included in the permanent collection at MoMA since 1964. The Loftcube, a prefabricated modular home design that amazes contemporary architects, is also one of his magnum opuses.

Japanese graphic designer Yoshiaki Irobe, famous for his philosophical designs, was the force behind the visual identification system at the Yayoi Kusama Museum. Winner of the Yusaku Kamekura Design Award, Japan’s most prestigious graphic design award, for his corporate identity plan for the Osaka Metro, Yoshiaki’s expertise is highly respected in the industry. Japanese architect Sou Fujimoto specializes in designing bold and imaginative residential spaces. He has attracted international attention through his work, which includes the 2013 Serpentine Pavilion in London, the transparent private residence House NA in Tokyo, and the Musashino Art University Museum and Library. Sou has won several Japanese architecture awards and the JIA New Face Award, and was recently invited to serve as site design producer at Expo 2025 in Osaka, Kansai.

This year’s list of jurors also includes famous Thai graphic designer and design educator Tnop Wangsillapakun; Arthur Guimarães, a well-known Brazilian architect; Italian designer and architect Luisa Bocchietto; Michael Speaks, dean of the School of Architecture at Syracuse University; Annie Ivanova, the internationally renowned curator who documented Taiwan’s design power in Taiwan By Design; Johnathon Strebly, president of the International Council of Design; Makiko Tsumura, director of the Japan Institute of Design Promotion; David Kusuma, president of the World Design Organization; and Eunjoo Maing, executive managing director at Korea Institute of Design Promotion.

2022 GPDA Call for Entries

The call for entries is open for the 2022 Golden Pin Design Award and Golden Pin Concept Design Award! The Golden Pin Design Award is for commercialized products on the market or completed spatial/integrated design projects. The applicant can be a business entity or design team. The deadline for registration is Thursday, July 7, and early bird registration has been extended to Tuesday, June 14.

The registration deadline for the Golden Pin Concept Design Award is Wednesday, June 22. Registration is free of charge, and Best Design winners will have a chance to win NT$400,000. The best time to register is now, so hurry up and visit the official website of Golden Pin Design Award for the complete list of jurors and detailed registration information!

For the complete list of jurors:
2022 Golden Pin Design Award:
2022 Golden Pin Concept Design Award:



About the Golden Pin Design Award Group

The annual Golden Pin Design Award is the longest-running international design award that celebrates products or projects expressly created for Chinese-speaking communities, offering entrants an unprecedented opportunity to prove their prowess in the world’s largest market.

The Golden Pin Design Award Group is comprised of two international awards — the Golden Pin Design Award, the Golden Pin Concept Design Award — and the Young Pin Design Award for students in Taiwan.

The Golden Pin Design Award Group is executed by the Taiwan Design Research Institute and organized by the Industrial Development Bureau, Ministry of Economic Affairs. The Ministry of Economic Affairs acts in an advisory capacity.

For the latest news on the Golden Pin Design Award, visit:

Official Website:

Facebook: GoldenPinDesign

Instagram: GoldenPinDesign

YouTube: GoldenPinDesign

Weibo: GoldenPinDesign

WeChat: 金点设计奖

International Media Enquiries

Golden Pin Design Award Team
Taiwan Design Research Institute (TDRI)
Wendy Wen, Press Coordinator